iOS 13 & Fing App

Apple’s iOS 13 will be launched this year (2019). You will be able to sign into your Fing account using “Sign in with Apple” leveraging Touch ID and Face ID, and use the Fing’s dark mode directly from the phone settings. You’ll also notice that Fing App will request location permissions to continue to read WiFi name (SSID) and address (BSSID).

Using “Sign in with Apple”, you will have the possibility to use the Face ID or Touch ID on your device (or username+password on the web application) to create or merge with an existing account. You can decide what to share with us:

  • Real name (or change them at the ‘sign up’ stage)
  • Real email of Masked Relay email (a masked email that Apple will receive and relay to the final user)

Important to note: if the user chooses to opt in for the masked relay email, we might not be able to support the IFTTT/Google Assistant/Zapier integration right now. If the user has an Apple ID based on an email (e.g. ronaldo@fing.com) and the account already existed in our system, the system will merge the Apple ID to the existing user (like we already do for Google and Facebook sign in: the email address is the unique identifier, and if it’s used on multiple platform, signing in via Google/Facebook/Apple will lead to the same account).

Why are my location permissions requested?

As WIFI information nowadays is considered by Google and Apple as relevant data that can identify a coarse location (e.g. if I scan a network called “NY LaGuardia Airport” this could indicate where I am), all App requesting to access to WiFi details must now ask also location permission to users, to let them be aware that sharing that info may indicate your location.

What happens if I do not want to grant locations permissions?

If you do not grant location permissions, the result is:

  • The app cannot show the name of the Wi-Fi (the name will appear empty)
  • The app cannot differentiate between Wi-Fi networks, so each scan will restart from scratch. Previous customizations will also not be loaded for that network.

We strongly recommend granting the permission to keep the App fully functional.

 

I initially did not grant my location permissions, but now I have changed my mind. What can I do?

As mentioned, initially, users will be prompted to provide permission to access location. If you have denied it and then reconsider, you must make changes in the  phone settings. To do this,  go to phone Settings -> Fing -> ‘Location Permissions’ .

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles